What is the hierarchy of Cisco certification?

What is the hierarchy of Cisco certification?

Cisco Systems, the renowned multinational technology conglomerate, is synonymous with cutting-edge networking solutions and expertise. For those aspiring to pursue a career in the field of IT networking, achieving cisco certification trackscan be a game-changer. However, navigating through the vast array of Cisco certification options can be quite overwhelming. From entry-level certifications like CCENT to expert-level credentials such as CCIE, there exists a well-defined hierarchy that outlines the path to becoming a proficient Cisco professional. In this article, we will delve into the intricacies of this hierarchical structure and explore each certification level’s significance and requirements, empowering you with the knowledge needed to embark on your journey towards becoming a certified Cisco expert. Understanding Cisco certifications and their importance

Entry-level certifications: CCENT and CCT

For those looking to kickstart their career in networking, there are a few entry-level certifications that can pave the way for success. Two of the most popular options are CCENT (Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician) and CCT (Cisco Certified Technician) certifications.

The CCENT certification is designed for individuals with limited experience in networking but who have a strong desire to learn more. It provides a solid foundation in networking essentials and covers topics such as IP addressing, subnetting, routing protocols, and network troubleshooting. With this certification under your belt, you’ll not only gain industry recognition but also have the necessary skills to configure and troubleshoot small networks.

On the other hand, the CCT certification is geared towards individuals interested in pursuing a career as an onsite field support technician or help desk technician. This certification validates one’s technical knowledge and practical skills needed to diagnose, restore, repair Cisco products at customer sites. By obtaining this certification, you demonstrate your ability to install systems, perform preventative maintenance on Cisco equipment, as well as identify common issues.

Both certifications serve as incredible starting points on your journey towards more advanced Cisco certifications. They not only provide you with fundamental knowledge but also make you stand out from other candidates when applying for entry-level positions within the networking industry. So whether you choose CCENT or CCT, know that you’re taking a valuable step towards a promising future in IT.

Associate-level certifications: CCNA

One of the most sought-after associate-level certifications in the networking industry is the CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associate). Achieving a CCNA certification not only enhances your technical skills but also opens up numerous career opportunities. This certification validates your knowledge and proficiency in various areas such as network fundamentals, routing and switching technologies, security, and wireless connectivity.

What sets the CCNA certification apart is its industry recognition and credibility. With a CCNA certification under your belt, you can demonstrate to employers that you possess a solid foundation in networking principles and are capable of configuring and troubleshooting Cisco devices. This recognition not only helps you secure better job prospects but also establishes yourself as a reliable professional in the field.

Moreover, obtaining a CCNA certification can be seen as an essential stepping stone for higher-level Cisco certifications. It’s often considered as the first milestone for individuals looking to progress further into specialized fields like cybersecurity or network design. Many professionals who have initially earned their CCNA eventually go on to achieve more advanced certifications like CCNP or CCIE, which showcase expertise in specific Cisco technologies.

In summary, earning a CCNA certification can greatly benefit your career by providing industry recognition, expanding job opportunities, and serving as an entry point for higher-level certifications. Whether you’re starting out in the networking field or looking to advance your existing skillset, pursuing a CCNA is definitely worth considering if you want to stay at the forefront of this rapidly evolving industry.

Professional-level certifications: CCNP

The CCNP, or Cisco Certified Network Professional certification, is a professional-level certification offered by Cisco Systems. It is designed for IT professionals who have already obtained the CCNA and want to further advance their knowledge and expertise in networking. The CCNP covers various specializations including routing and switching, security, wireless, collaboration, data center, and service provider.

One of the key benefits of obtaining the CCNP certification is that it validates your skills and knowledge at a professional level. It demonstrates to employers that you have not only mastered the fundamentals of networking but also possess specialized expertise in your chosen field. This can significantly enhance your career prospects and open up new opportunities for higher-paying jobs.

Moreover, the CCNP certification provides you with a comprehensive understanding of complex network solutions. It enables you to design, implement, and manage enterprise-level networks effectively. With this certification under your belt, you become a valuable asset to organizations looking to optimize their network infrastructure or tackle complex issues related to networking technologies. In today’s highly digital world where connectivity is crucial for businesses across industries, having advanced networking skills can give you a competitive edge in the job market while elevating your overall professional profile.

Conclusion: Importance of Cisco certification hierarchy

The conclusion of this article brings us back to the importance of the Cisco certification hierarchy. While it can be easy to overlook or dismiss, the truth is that having a well-defined certification path can greatly benefit individuals and organizations in the IT industry. Whether you are an aspiring professional looking to enhance your skills or an employer seeking top talent, understanding and valuing this hierarchy can make a significant difference in achieving your goals.

Firstly, obtaining Cisco certifications showcases a person’s commitment and dedication to their craft. By completing each level of certification, individuals prove their knowledge and expertise in various networking domains. This not only instills confidence in employers but also differentiates certified professionals from their non-certified peers. In today’s competitive job market where qualifications matter more than ever before, holding these certifications can give you an edge over others vying for the same positions.

Secondly, with each higher-level Cisco certification comes increased job prospects and earning potential. The company’s hierarchical structure ensures that those who put in the effort to advance their skills are rewarded accordingly. Employers recognize the value of professionals who possess advanced knowledge and abilities that align with specific business needs. Therefore, properly navigating through this hierarchy allows individuals to unlock new opportunities for career growth and advancement.


In conclusion, being aware of and valuing the Cisco certification hierarchy is crucial for both individuals and organizations within the IT industry.

Thanks for reading from Ghsplash a news publishing website from Ghana. Share this article, For spelling mistakes and other related issues contact us